The Albums

Anna Meredith


Moshi Moshi, released 4th March, 2016


Recently described by Pitchfork as “one of the most innovative minds in modern British Music” composer/producer Anna Meredith’s work straddles the worlds of contemporary classical (including a stint as Composer in Residence with the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra), art-pop and electronica.

Her music has been performed everywhere from the BBC Last Night of the Proms to flashmob body-percussion performances in the M6 Services, PRADA fashion campaigns, numerous films, installations and documentaries, pop festivals, clubs and classical concert halls worldwide and broadcast on Radio 1, 2, 3, 4 & 6.

The follow-up to her two EPs, 2012’s ‘Black Prince Fury’, and 2013’s ‘Jet Black Raider’, ‘Varmints’ was recorded with drummer and percussionist Sam Wilson, guitarist Jack Ross and cellist Gemma Kost, at the famous Aldeburgh Music in Suffolk, Hackney Road Studios in London and Meredith’s own flat.  The record is called ‘Varmints’ because these songs represent ideas she could not shake off, a welcome infestation of “musical pests”.  It’s still a very human creature, however, in touch with its emotions and its physicality.

“Hearing a young classical composer, regardless of gender leap ahead of the pack to make electronic music that’s both accessible and out there is something very special.” THE WIRE (8/10)

Twitter | Facebook


1. Nautilus
2. Taken
3. Scrimshaw
4. Something Helpful
5. R-Type
6. Dowager
7. The Vapours
8. Honeyed Words
9. Last Rose
10. Shill
11. Blackfriars