The Albums

C Duncan


FatCat Records, released 17th August, 2015


The son of two classical musicians, Christopher Duncan was drawn so persuasively to indie and alternative music and playing in school bands as a teen that he added guitar, bass guitar and drums to his existing repertoire of viola and piano, studying all five instruments at the same time.  The cover art for ‘Architect’, a detailed and stylised aerial view of a Glasgow side street, was also created by Christopher himself. A skilled and accomplished artist, his work has been exhibited at galleries around Scotland.

‘Architect’ showcases a huge breadth in Christopher’s songwriting abilities. While tracks like ‘Say’ are characterised by their gentleness and warmth, ‘Garden’ is bright, sunny, irrepressible. Others draw more overtly from electronic music and modern composition; Duncan references The Knife and Arvo Pärt as willingly as Burt Bacharach and The Carpenters. When Talk Talk, Fleet Foxes, Grizzly Bear, The Ink Spots and the compositions of Maurice Ravel and Gabriel Fauré are thrown into the mix, the record collection that informs Christopher’s music starts to become clear.

‘Architect’ was nominated for the 2015 Mercury Music Prize.

“Hauntingly pretty, intricately arranged…Will blow you away with its awed atmosphere and reverential sense of rapture…Exquisite and unearthly.” The Guardian [Band of the Week]

Twitter | Facebook


1. Say
2. Architect
3. Silence And Air
4. For
5. He Believes In Miracles
6. Garden
7. Here To There
8. By
9. New Water
10. Novices
11. As Sleeping Stones
12. I'll Be Gone By Winter