The Albums

Jarlath Henderson

Hearts Broken, Heads Turned

Bellows Records, released 27th January, 2016


Jarlath Henderson set the folk scene alight in 2003, becoming the youngest winner of the BBC Young Folk Award.  Known for his extraordinary prowess on uilleann pipes and whistles, and his firebrand partnership with Ross Ainslie, Henderson has defied expectations with his scintillating debut solo album.  Drawing on a range of influences and crossing the divides of borders and generations, ‘Hearts Broken, Heads Turned’ has confirmed Jarlath Henderson as an exhilarating vocalist and visionary multi-instrumentalist who won’t be pinned down.

For his hotly anticipated debut album ‘Hearts Broken, Heads Turned’, Jarlath Henderson has thrown away the rule book.  With his accompanying line up featuring the cream of the Scottish Folk scene, Hamish Napier (keyboards, flute), Innes Watson (fiddle, guitar), Duncan Lyall (double bass) and Andrea Gobbi (electronics), Henderson (on vocals, Uilleann pipes, whistles and guitar) has created an album that defies convention, juxtaposing the traditional with the modern to dazzling effect.

“One of the most powerful and inventive folk albums of the year.” THE GUARDIAN (4/5)

Twitter | Facebook


1. Courting Is A Pleasure
2. The Two Brothers
3. The Slighted Lover
4. Ye Rambling Boys Of Pleasure
5. Young Edmund In The Lowlands Low
6. Fare Thee Well Lovely Nancy
7. Sweet Lemany
8. The Mountain Streams Where The Moorcocks Crow