The Albums


Every Open Eye

Virgin Records, released 25th September, 2015


When Glaswegian trio Iain Cook, Martin Doherty and Lauren Mayberry got together to write and record their debut album in 2013, no one had heard of  them.  They had no pre-existing ideas of what the record would or should be like, no pre-conceptions and nothing to live up to – just three people in a basement studio in Glasgow making music they believed in.

‘The Bones Of What You Believe’ was released to widespread critical acclaim and went on to sell over 500,000 albums worldwide.  The band clocked in 364 shows in 2 years, selling out venues across the world and making signature appearances at SXSW (where they were awarded the inaugural prize for best new act in 2013), Glastonbury, Coachella, Lollapalooza and myriad others before retiring to their studio for another go.

‘Every Open Eye’ seeks to do more with less. To make something intense and urgent and visceral, using the basic tools of melody, rhythm and arrangement rather than the mentality that ‘more is more’.  It develops CHVRCHES’ signature style, juxtaposing the light and the dark, creating their own brand of twisted pop music, an electronic-pop record with a heart.  Lyrically, it’s not a break up album. It’s a record about past heartbreaks and getting over them; about perspective and the benefit of hindsight; about being unapologetic and not being told what to do or who to be.  It’s about moving on to better things, holding on to the good and letting go of the bad.

“More confident in their own musical skins, it all adds together to make ‘Every Open Eye’ a second album even better than the first.” DIY Magazine (5/5)

Twitter | Facebook


1. Never Ending Circles
2. Leave A Trace
3. Keep You On My Side
4. Make Them Gold
5. Clearest Blue
6. High Enough To Carry You Over
7. Empty Threat
8. Down Side Of Me
9. Playing Dead
10. Bury It
11. Afterglow