The Albums

Primal Scream


1st International | Ignition Records, released 18th March, 2016


Primal Scream are a Scottish rock band originally formed in 1982 in Glasgow.  The band were a key part of the mid-1980s indie pop scene, but eventually moved away from their more jangly sound, taking on more psychedelic and then garage rock influences, before incorporating a dance music element to their sound.  Their 1991 album ‘Screamadelica’ broke the band into the mainstream and their latest album ‘Chaosmosis’ was released on 18 March 2016.

Recorded in London, New York and Stockholm and written and produced by Gillespie and Andrew Innes, ‘Chaosmosis’ is quite possibly the freest-sounding album Primal Scream have ever made (and this is their 11th studio effort over the better part of three decades).  10 songs by turns angry and euphoric, personal and political, which sound like the distillation of so much that has come before, plus a shot into the future.  Boasting guest appearances from Haim, Rachel Zeffira from Cat’s Eyes and a 23-year old Skye Ferreira, some songwriting and production credits are also shared with Björn Yttling, sometime bassist in Peter Bjorn and John.

“Art, politics, music … the people I love are the people who care about something, who care about beauty,” says Gillespie. “That’s what we’re trying to do here. And this album is beautiful.”

“Over the course of a 35-year career defined by excess, reinvention and the occasional brush with genius, Primal Scream have made all sorts of albums, but not one quite like this.” NME (4/5)

Twitter | Facebook


1. Trippin' On Your Love
2. (Feeling Like A) Demon Again
3. I Can Change
4. 100% Or Nothing
5. Private Wars
6. Where the Light Gets In
7. When The Blackout Meets The Fallout
8. Carnival Of Fools
9. Golden Rope
10. Autumn In Paradise